STEM Awards

The Dayton Regional STEM Center has established the STEM Excellence Awards to recognize leadershipservice, and collaboration in the field of STEM Education.  The awards will honor the work of individuals and teams who have made distinctive contributions to the field of STEM Education.  A list of past winners can be found here.

Congratulations to our 2018 STEM Excellence Award Winners!

1st Place Leadership & Service:  Jayme Boston, Northmont/MVCTC

2nd Place Leadership & Service:  Colleen Biers, Northridge

School-Based Collaboration:  Xenia Community Schools, Donna Shaw, Amanda Johnson, Sandi Jacobs, Leah Pham, Molly Wavra

STEM Education Leadership and Service Award 

The STEM Education Leadership & Service Award will be presented to a PK-12 Classroom Teacher who has made extraordinary contributions to the creation, facilitation or continuation of a STEM Education initiative, program or organization directly impacting PK-12 students in the Dayton, Ohio region.  Awards are $1,500 for 1st place and $500 for 2nd place and will be awarded to the school or district in the awardees name to support future STEM experiences.

STEM Education Collaboration Award

The STEM Education Collaboration Award will be presented to a team or group of educators who have collaborated to design, deliver or sustain a distinctive, PK-12 STEM Education program or project at the school, district, or community level in the Dayton , Ohio Region.  The School-based Collaboration Award will recognize the outstanding efforts of a group of classroom teachers and/or educational administrators who have worked at the school or district level to advance quality STEM Education.  The Community Collaboration Award will recognize the outstanding efforts of a group or team of PK-12 educators who have worked to create STEM Education programming enhanced by connections between PK-12 schools and business, industry, government or higher education organizations.  A total of $1000 will be awarded to the school or district in the teacher awardee name(s) to support future STEM experiences.   The industry, government or higher educational organization(s) will be recognized for their supporting role(s).

Ready to nominate?  

Online nominations are now closed.  Check back in December 2018.  

Nomination Deadline:  February 15, 2019

Nominee Application Deadline:   March 1, 2019


Questions?  Please contact Michael O’Shaughnessy at